Amazon Reviews - Updated October 3rd!

on Oct 04, 2016 @ 09:39 am

Have you gals heard about this yet??

From what I gather, unless you are in the Amazon Vine Program (invite only), sellers cannot request that you review an item in exchange for the product (free or with a cost); I dug a bit, and it looks like there might be a work around for vendors who offer the products for $5 or more (but don't ask for a review).

So I have NO idea how this is going to play out.

Vendors can still request reviews for posting on social media or non-amazon review sites, so I am interested to see what happens with respect to that.  It's definitely a game changer! 

AMZ Review Traders is staying Quiet, Tomoson has posted their intent to continue on (without Amazon reviews, but everything else).

I owned a small business, so realize how important word of mouth and reviews are - but from people who actually use the products and put thought into their reviews. I really actually enjoy reviewing items and feel I'm helping small businesses AND customers with my blunt yet tactful reviews.



9 Replies

. on Oct 04, 2016 @ 10:23 am

That is American Amazon site , Canadian one hasn't been effected that I've seen.

. on Oct 04, 2016 @ 03:11 pm

I am an Amazon Vine reviewer, and currently it is by invitation only based on how many reviews you have and how many find them helpful.
And to add, I am a Canadian Amazon reviewer.
You decide what you want to review, they send it free of charge, and I got an AC during the summer so they aren't cheap products. You review it on Amazon. Simple.

Good Timing on Oct 04, 2016 @ 07:02 pm

I happened to read this post about half an hour ago, just before I signed onto my AMZ Review Traders account. Everything seemed normal on the account, although I did notice there were not many new additions to it today, however, while I was surfing around the site, they updated it.

The Dashboard changed, and every item now has special instructions stating "You are not required to leave a review for this product. However, you are able to leave reviews for any products you purchase on Amazon if you choose to."

I am glad I read this first, or I would have been very confused. I guess we will see what happens - I was offered several vouchers today that I have already accepted and ordered, so maybe the sellers are still going to use AMZ for the time being.

. on Oct 04, 2016 @ 07:41 pm

So far Amazon Canada hasn't followed suit, but who knows if it'll happen soon or not. For now, it's business as normal. I don't see how canada could make a rule like that work, as there are not as many reviewers here and not as many sellers too. So we'll see.

. on Oct 04, 2016 @ 09:49 pm

Thanks to the two ladies that posted it has not affected Canada.I was wondering!I love doing my Amazon Reviews and would hate to see that happen here :(

.. on Oct 06, 2016 @ 09:44 pm

I was going to say the same thing

... on Oct 10, 2016 @ 07:56 am

The Canadian site will likely follow suit though.

Sellers are not really approving anything, and those whom I was working with via email (not via a promo site) are definitely trying to work their heads around how to make their marketing work.

I can see both points of view, and I feel bad for reviewers who are really good at seeing all aspects of a product (vs someone who has half their post as a disclosure asking people to Like their review); I also feel for the vendors, as marketing is SO difficult, especially with such a saturated market.

I've also been getting requests to review for - not taking that customs charge chance!!

... on Oct 10, 2016 @ 09:16 am

Just going to see how this works out, I guess. I've been very active on the site for a long time now, and my reviews are honest and through, but have not been getting approved much since the changes started last week.

I'm just going to review the items that are still in transit to me as I usually would, accept anything that I am approved for, and try not to think about How much "better" it was in terms of deals and discounts before the changes :-)

I know that several sellers I have dealt with in the past have sent emails basically saying they are taking a break right now while they get things figured out, but hope they will be back offering vouchers soon.

amazon on Oct 10, 2016 @ 07:12 pm

I received an e-mail from AMZ yesterday about this change for I don't know if the Canada site will do the same thing I've applied for products but never gotten approved for them

Leave A Reply

Your Reply:


Join Our Newsletter

Stay in the loop for the latest news, contests, deals and more!