Anonymous Reviews


Ali de Bold
on Dec 29, 2010 @ 11:22 am

Hi Everyone!  I'm excited to let you know we have launched Anonymous reviews. That means you can review items that you may prefer not to appear under your personal profile.

To make an anonymous review, just add it the same as any other review, but before hitting submit, you'll see an option to check off as anonymous.  Just check the box, hit submit and your review will appear anonymously.

Now you can finally review items you love but don't necessarily want to attach your name to.

Like it?
 


9 Replies


spotty
hmmmmm on Dec 29, 2010 @ 02:27 pm

I get it and I don't. I guess I don't embarrass easily. If there's a product you LOVE, shouldn't you be proud to rave about it, even if its lube or something risque? I guess I can see the anonymous feature being used more for negative reviews. Either way, the idea of chick advisor is to get reviews reviews reviews. So if this tool will compel folks to write a review they'd otherwise abstain from, then I'm all for the anonymous review option.
Reply

Ali de Bold
We have a review club coming up... on Dec 29, 2010 @ 02:33 pm

...that is going to be a less comfortable subject but something that nearly all women will need at some point in life. Sometimes it can be awkward to talk about it even if you have named yourself 'hotstuff17' online and no one really knows who you are anyway.

We anticipate the majority of our reviews will not be anonymous but it gives people the chance to recommend stuff they might not feel comfortable attaching to their profile.

But Spotty I hear you there. I don't embarrass that easily either.
Reply

spotty
embarrassing on Dec 29, 2010 @ 02:40 pm

I suppose a review for Maalox, Gas-X, or Tucks medicated pads for hemorrhoids could be embarrassing!

Will be interested to see what the review club item is! I've been inactive on CA for a while plus the club has gotten so big (which is good) so I've not participated in a while.
Reply

mamaluv
My embarrassing story on Dec 29, 2010 @ 02:59 pm

I had just posted a review for the Diva Cup and coincidentally the next review was by my stepdad for a DVD or whatever. I imagine he probably saw my review, and since he knows my screen name, there's no dodging that one!

Thankfully he has never mentioned it - either because he is still blissfully unaware or because he is embarrassed about it too!
Reply

spotty
diva cup? on Dec 29, 2010 @ 03:09 pm

He probably doesn't even know what the diva cup is. And if he cared to implore, as soon as he found out it was for period protection he probably got all squimish and immediately closed the browser window! Most men seem to run far away from anything period related!
Reply

MaryD
Ooh! on Dec 29, 2010 @ 03:14 pm

Sounds great! And mamaluv: Yikes!
Reply

mamaluv
... on Dec 29, 2010 @ 03:25 pm

@spotty Even so, my friend, even so... ;)
Reply

cathy3087
oh dear on Dec 29, 2010 @ 03:39 pm

Mamaluv that's pretty unfortunate your stepdad had to choose that time to write his review!

I agree with Spotty that there are some awkward things like Gas-X that you might not want to attach to your profile! So anonymous reviews are perfect!
Reply

Becky
nice!! :) on Dec 29, 2010 @ 04:43 pm

I like the idea of submitting anonymous reviews! For some products it might be easier to write a more honest review if we can post it anonymously.

I have a question: for those of us who want to be considered for product review club, will anonymous reviews count towards us being active reviewers?
Reply

Leave A Reply

Title:
Your Reply:
 

 

Join Our Newsletter

Stay in the loop for the latest news, contests, deals and more!