DISHONEST REVIEWS, DISHONEST PEOPLE ON THIS SITE!!!!!


Anonymous
on Jul 01, 2016 @ 05:53 pm

I posted a thread:

"PLEASE STATE THAT YOU HAVE RECEIVED A PRODUCT FOR FREE!"


 and the replies I got were "It doesn't MATTER" 

I am NOT going to read "REVIEWS" from people who say anything, lie, and don't follow the rules (the rules state that you are to disclose that you have received the product for free in exchange for your honest opinion) Meanwhile, some people never get a chance to test anything (not speaking for myself, here) while people who don't follow the rules continue getting free products to test, while not doing what the company wants you to in exchange for the free product.

I will NO LONGER read a review on this site, and consider it TRUTHFUL. 
 

27 Replies


dandy_123
. on Jul 01, 2016 @ 06:35 pm

I very much understand your point. I myself don't really understand why is it so hard for some people to say they got a product for free. It does matter in a way. When you don't mention you received a product in exchange for your review, you are not acknowledging the company who was kind enough to send you a product for free. I'm also going to give the benefit of the doubt, there might be people out there who genuinely forget what types of products they post reviews for are actually ones they received for free. They could be still truthful without mentioning that they got it for free but once again, it's nice to acknowledge the people or firm who were nice enough to send it to you free of charge.
Reply

Irememberu
..... on Jul 01, 2016 @ 07:22 pm

Good points gals. When I do a review on CA about a product i got for free i always say "I got this as a sample" About people lying Anonymous..... Don't know if they're lying but i sometimes find it a little unbelievable when there is a product review club like the CA mug etc and it seems so many seem to have used pretty well every product.Actually, they probably all have used what they are reviewing about. How could I know anyways?
Reply

laura2423
. on Jul 01, 2016 @ 07:36 pm

I have found that as well, whenever a large amount of points are being offered for certain products, there are a good amount of people who have tried pretty much every single product on the list. Which is fantastic but only if you have actually tried all these products before you write a review for them.
Reply

wendyroy
. on Jul 01, 2016 @ 11:51 pm

Just my humble opinion here, but not agreeing with a comment, or forgetting to state they got it free does not make anyone dishonest. And I have purchased products others were invited to try for free after being inspired by the introduction when offer first came out.. Ginger ale and Softlips springs to mind..I was not chosen for the campaign, so paid for the product after reading some chicks reviews, then providing my opinion. Finally, I have received free products that I did not like, and stated so in the review.
I am sorry you did not find out reviews helpful. My experience has been very positive, and I often rely on these chicks opinions.
Reply

prettyrainbow
. on Jul 02, 2016 @ 12:47 am

I understand your frustration. If you're putting in the hard work and making sure you are honest, you'd expect others to do the same right? I'm glad you value the standards ChickAdvisor asked us to abide to. I think there will always be people faking reviews no matter which review site you go to but I hope you keep in mind that the majority of us are writing them properly and we want to share our honest opinions. I think it would be unfair to dismiss ChickAdvisor altogether because some people seem to be taking advantage.

It's difficult to point fingers and say they are being dishonest, though, since we just don't know whether or not they really got the product for free or purchased it themselves. I usually mention how I received it, but there could have been times where I've innocently forgotten to write it. That didn't mean my review was fake, but I could understand if someone wouldn't trust it. I guess the best way to go about it would be to read through multiple reviews for the product in order to get a clear picture.

I think the best we can do is to make sure we, ourselves, continue to follow the rules. You'll come across this issue on any review site out there. Keep trusting in those members who are really putting in the effort and keep doing what you're doing. I applaud all of you who really take the time and effort to inform us and who continue to write exceptional reviews. You all deserve a prize in my book!

Reply

HappyEastCoastr
. on Jul 02, 2016 @ 01:40 am

Like usual, I agree with @prettyrainbow. We Chicks that follow the rules have to each just keep doing our hardest to outweigh the fake reviews. I've been trying hard to read every review that has been posted. Especially on the few campaigns that I was fortunate enough to receive.
Saying that, I still wish there were a helpful/not helpful button below each review...that might cut out some of the bad reviews.
It is obvious there are some people out there that forget to post they got the product for free in exchange for an honest review. Like @Dandy_123 and @Irememberu: I'd much rather assume it was an honest accident.
Sometimes, I just want to go straight to their guestbook and remind them to at least post a quick update...but then, I feel out of place and don't speak up, since I am so new to the panel.

So - for the habitual forgetters... Here's a tip that I started doing when leaving my reviews on Amazon (and will if/when I get any other products to review here on ChickAdvisor).
Before I get into drafting the review, the first sentence I write is:
"Disclosure: A free or discounted copy of this product was provided to me up front in exchange for an honest and unbiased review."
THEN, I click to the start of the Disclosure, hit ENTER, and write the review. Doing that, the disclosure will stay right at the bottom and won't be forgotten.

To add to the comment by @wendyroy; I am also one Chick that ends up buying the product that is being tested because it sounds so awesome. In fact, I also got the Blackberry Ginger Ale (omg SOOOOOOOOOO tasty!!)
Maybe, to avoid confusion, all of us Chick's that go out and buy and try the product at the same time as everyone who got it for free, we could simply wait a few extra weeks to post our reviews. That way, we give the ladies enough time to post their reviews of the free products they received. Just a thought..

I'm not sure how it actually works, but I figure that the people who are lucky enough to receive free product to review here must have their reviews read by the staff - and I'm sure staff must get in touch with the panelist if they didn't follow the very simple rule. In my opinion, I think the first time they should get a warning and the next they should be disqualified for future campaigns.
Reply

jujusamples
. on Jul 02, 2016 @ 05:51 am

I'm sorry to be honest but writing a complaint such as the OP under "anyomous" is no different from not stating that the you got the product for free for a certain product. Just my opinion.

I myself would, most of the time state that on the first sentence of my review. If I forgot than sorry, doesn't mean I'm dishonest. I don't think it means all the review that doesn't state that is dishonest. It doesn't make a difference if they got it for free or not. There will always be fake reviews no matter where you read them on the internet.In fact, there will be fake a lot of things on the internet. Reviews, means just that, just to give you an idea on other's opinions.

Sometimes I want a product so badly, I love reading reviews and sometimes that product has a lot of negative reviews. Depending on the price point, I still go out and buy it. The reason, I know reviews are just other people opinions, I might think differently. I still love to read reviews as a heads up, but I wouldn't use it against the reviewer if the product works differently for me.

Going out and straight up blaming, pointing fingers and making a negative comment, is not cool in my books. Especially under 'anonymous"

So funny to me how the same anonymous person is complaining about something they are doing themselves.
Reply

ontario_ogirl
reviews on Jul 02, 2016 @ 06:31 am

I always am truthful in my reviews. If I got a product free I state I got it as part of a sample from here... I don't know why you wouldn't... it doesn't affect anything one way or another and it is the rules of the company...
Reply

jujusamples
Just to clarify on Jul 02, 2016 @ 06:33 am

Sorry, I forgot to be more specific what I meant by negative comment. It's okay to have a negative opinion on a certain product.

I'm just trying to say the OP's negativeness on the post is not cool. How it's in all uppercase and bold. " people on this site are dishonest". It really rubs me the wrong way. It's just uncalled for.

We have a great group of ladies here and I believe most of us who regularly posts reviews are honest and spends a lot of time writing the reviews. Kudos to all of you. As Ellen always says "be kind to one another"
Reply

ontario_ogirl
Agree on Jul 02, 2016 @ 09:15 am

Always be kind to eachother, I agree.
Reply

Leave A Reply

Title:
Your Reply:
 

 

Join Our Newsletter

Stay in the loop for the latest news, contests, deals and more!