Writing Reviews

on May 07, 2016 @ 02:12 am

I typically write very detailed reviews. There is a minimum of 150 characters, which isn't very much, really. I wonder why some people write such short reviews? I personally try to put a lot of effort into my reviews and use as much detail as possible to help others make informed buying choices. Let's face it, beauty isn't cheap. I have written reviews that are over 2000 characters. In fact, I just finished one that long, which prompted me to add this topic of discussion. Do you ladies tend to write short or long reviews? Or does it depend on the product? Why do you write short or long reviews? I certainly appreciate it when others write detailed reviews - in fact, instead of saying long reviews I should refer to it as a very detailed review because anyone can go on and on about something without really saying much, if you know what I mean. I almost feel like those of us who write more detailed reviews should receive more points. For me, it's showing that you put in a lot of effort and thought into what you're reviewing; that you're making it more about quality than quantity. What do you chicks think? Short to the point reviews or very detailed and informative reviews? Or does it matter?
I personally appreciate the detailed reviews (when appropriate) especially if it's an expensive item. I also prefer to give detailed reviews so my fellow chicks get as much info as possible to help with purchasing decisions.
What do you think?

11 Replies

. on May 07, 2016 @ 05:19 am

I completely agree with you I think that depending on the review or how good the review is you you should be rewarded with more points as to when other people when they review they just want to hit a hundred and fifty characters and that's it I think some people just do it for the points and they don't really care and I really think that the creators of the website will catch on and maybe Rectify all this I personally just tried to give all of my information and my opinion as best as I can.
Like you just stated in your post it will help in the long run for purchasing decisions and honest and detailed reviews is something that I love to read I always try to take my time and give honest and detailed opinions about the products that I use.
I honestly feel like most girls but I shouldn't say most but some girls I think just do it for the points so they could just rack up points and honestly that's not fair it's not being honest and it's not really being helpful at all and that's the whole point of this website.

.. on May 07, 2016 @ 05:20 am

And I'd also like to add that I completely agree with you in regards to how the points are being gamed if the review as well detailed and long enough you should get more points the better the reviews the better points.
I kind of feel like it's unfair to all the other girls as girls that are trying to put in time and an honest and good reviews whilst other girls are just doing it for the points which is completely unfair.

Hmmm on May 07, 2016 @ 09:34 am

I find the more products I review, the more detailed I have become. It's a skill that evolved over time.

When I'm using new products now, I think to myself what does it smell like? texture? feel? How does it interact or compare with other products I use? When and how do I use it? Who might find this product great?

So many thoughts run through my head now, I have to write my reviews on a blank Microsoft Word page now so I can get all my thoughts in on one page.

I would rather a useful review than one that just states, "I like it - it worked great - I got this for free from blah blah blah (and another sentence or two thanking whomever a product was from).

I come to Chickadvisor to look at products I have Not tried to determine if they will work for me.

We saw a great deal on a dishwasher the other week, and I checked multiple sites for reviews. It was SO difficult to weed out ones that just stated that the dishwasher was quiet and looked nice vs how it actually performed and cleaned.

So think about your audience while writing your review as well - what questions might they have?

. on May 07, 2016 @ 09:56 am

As long as a review doesn't just say "I like this product. The end." I would like to know why the item is good/bad, etc. I try to be as detailed as possible but sometimes you can only say so much about an item. And other times I find that (in my own reviews) I repeat the same info but in different context or that my review turns into a story.

. on May 07, 2016 @ 11:49 am

I agree with you ladies. I use the reviews here to help me decide whether or. To to buy a product, as above, especially if it is an expensive decision. Also, the more detail, the more credible a review seems. I always use the example of scent ...I enjoy strong scents. Occasionally I will read reviews where a lot of chicks found the smell too overpowering or strong, or are allergic. But to me that's a plus. I don't rely too heavily on the "star" system because I find that things like cost are subjective. The Adrien Gagnon bars were a good example...it seemed expensive until I realized that I would grab one instead of stopping at Tims and grabbing a muffin and coffee. relative to that, it is an economical choice. It would be helpful if when submitting a review keep in mind that someone else is using your review to help them decide whether or not to buy the product.

Reviews on May 07, 2016 @ 11:50 am

i try to give a good amount of information on my review so it usually is long. But I have seen some only write a few sentences for a review. Makes you wonder if they actually tried the product.

. on May 07, 2016 @ 02:35 pm

I agree with christinat, I find it tough to write a too detail review without repeating what others already wrote. A couple of times I see a product I wanted to review and when I come to review, the last person whom reviewed it said exactly what I wanted to say. If I write the same thing, then it will be "people are just copying each other"
I read reviews about everything before I buy, places to eat, before travelling etc. For example, I have really dry feet, and I want to buy moisturizer for that helps with the feet, I would see how many people have said it works well with dry feet and noted on the those products. I like different opinion things so I think any review is helpful as long as (christinat mentioned) it dose say "I like this product" and that's it.
I guess I'm more to the point type of person. If you ask me what time it is, I will give you the time vs. others would tell you how the clock was built"
I believe it's just a matter of preferences. There's both types reviewers on ChickAdvisor which is great because it opens up the door to all types of audiences. :)

. on May 07, 2016 @ 03:54 pm

I agree, but I'm a professional reviewer so I want to do the best reviews! Some people prefer shorter reviews, both are good!

:) on May 07, 2016 @ 04:34 pm

I generally leave detailed reviews as well - I find I cannot write really short reviews because then I'm leaving out important details. Though I also am somewhat put off by certain lengthy reviews by others. For example, if I see a huge paragraph for a frozen meal or a lip balm - something simple, I prefer reading shorter reviews that get to the point. I only prefer really long ones if I'm considering buying an expensive product. Though in the end, I too prefer ones that are relatively detailed.

. on May 07, 2016 @ 08:06 pm

I always wonder if what I've written is good enough. I know some reviews are longer than others and some are more detailed then others. Like someone already said it is a skill that is learned and becomes better with practice.

However, I feel that it is not the length of the review that is important but the quality. One thing I've always learned is that it is quality over quantity. If someone can get all the important information and opinions about the product in smaller paragraphs.. that's awesome. If you need to add more in order for you to feel confident in your review... that's great too!

Leave A Reply

Your Reply:


Join Our Newsletter

Stay in the loop for the latest news, contests, deals and more!