FIFTY SHADES OF GREY !!! .. In Theaters now ..wondering who seen it and whats your opinion of movie


Newfiescreech
on Feb 16, 2015 @ 05:27 pm

would love hear from all chick advisor .. that been out too this movie ..FIFTY SHADES OF GREY ..THINK IT COULD BE AWESOME THREAD .. great place too vice your opinion .. what you think about movie ..Thanking you all in advance ...for taking few minutes out your busy schedule to give your opinion .
 

22 Replies


Griechux
. on Feb 16, 2015 @ 09:48 pm

Funny, i started the same thread :) Havent read the books and havent seen the movie, was just curious about all this craziness :)
Reply

prettyrainbow
will not watch on Feb 16, 2015 @ 10:27 pm

I'm sort of opposed to seeing the movie. A few months ago, the media went crazy over the Jian Gomeshi scandal in the ways he treated women due to sexual practices that are similar to those mentioned in this series of books and movie. If we say that what he did was wrong, then wouldn't it be contradictory to glorify what this movie is all about? I know Gomeshi was apparently more violent (or so the media claims), but it's still the same subject.

On that note, have you noticed how there are now articles online and also feature interviews on TV about "the real life Christian Grey"? In my opinion, they are trying to make this subject less taboo and using the excuse that it's a way to spice up your relationship, but I think we're missing the bigger picture here.

How many people have really been educated as to what consensus really means and looks like? I don't think every couple is going to start drawing up contracts in order to avoid legal problems if things get out of hand. Maybe I'm reading too much into this, but in a society where sex education is no longer or rarely being taught in schools, and how people easily jump on the next trend without considering the consequences, is it really appropriate to be making such a big fuss over this movie?

In my opinion, I find this series demeaning to women. I'm no feminist, but something about this doesn't sit well with me, especially now that so many rape allegations are coming to light. Whether they are true or not, shouldn't we be more mindful about the meaning behind what we're being told to watch/read?

Sorry if my response got so serious, but it's something to think about...

Reply

Newfiescreech
Thanks Prettyrainbow on Feb 17, 2015 @ 12:19 am

Hi Prettyrainbow ..Thanks so much for expressing your feelings .. just what i wanted to hear .we still have freedom of speech and i kindly appricated your opinion .some may agree and some may not .Thanks so much for your opinion
Reply

Newfiescreech
Thanks .Griechux on Feb 17, 2015 @ 12:28 am

Hi Griechux .. Sorry !! didn't see your thread here for fifty shades of grey . Please accept my apologizes .Sorry !!!
Reply

prettyrainbow
Thanks Newfiescreech on Feb 17, 2015 @ 10:52 am

Thank you for your comment Newfiescreech. I appreciate that you read it with an open mind. I'm totally fine with it if people want to see the movie; that's a personal choice to which you have a right. I would love to know what you thought about the movie if you end up seeing it.
Reply

mamaluv
slippery slope on Feb 17, 2015 @ 11:48 am

I definitely agree with what some of you have said, which is wondering where this is all headed. I will neither read nor watch 50 Shades largely because of the widely held opinion that it is not well written/conceived. Call me a snob, but there are many great books and movies out there on every imaginable topic, and why would I spend time reading something that by all accounts is horribly written? There is better erotica out there if that's your thing.

I am also of the (perhaps old-fashioned) mindset that our society's insistence on accepting absolutely everything without a second (dare we suggest "judgmental" - gasp!) thought can lead to dangerous situations. We already see kids and teens becoming dissociated from reality due to highly realistic video games. Sex is not something that should be taken lightly, and experimenting with kink just for the sake of novelty has the potential for abuse. As we know, some S&M can be violent and can every person engaging in this behaviour be of clear enough mind to stop if things go too far?

Let me be clear that I'm not trying to pass judgment on those people who are able to enjoy this kind of activity consensually, safely, and respectfully where their partners are concerned. I am referring more to the uninitiated who could be abused by someone in this type of situation.

We have all heard the terrible stories of young women being held hostage for months or years, and despite going out in public to buy groceries or have conversations with neighbours, not be able to ask for help due to being controlled mentally by their rapist kidnapper.

I have kids and I know perspective can change drastically between thinking about what might keep things interesting in the bedroom between my husband and me versus what I would want for my kids once they are old enough to be thinking about this stuff. If we are worried about what messages our kids are getting from magazine covers, I think we should be even that much more cautious about books and movies which have the power to immerse the reader/viewer in the story in a much stronger way.

Just my two cents :)
Reply

prettyrainbow
Good points on Feb 17, 2015 @ 01:57 pm

Mamaluv, you've brought up some excellent and important points. I think the key word here is consensus. The fact is that society isn't really educated to properly recognize what it looks like, sounds like, etc... As a teacher, I know that students nowadays have no idea about some of the basics of sex education. Yes, they know about sex, but they're learning about it from all the wrong people and places. This movie is the perfect example. To think that it's geared towards a young population, makes me wonder about how it will influence their minds, much in the same way video games are proven to do this. We don't always make the best of judgments, even up to the ages of 25-27 when our brains will have fully developed.

There people are swooning over these books as though they are the official handbooks to sexual relationships and I blame the media for this.

Some people out there will innocently want to try out what this series portrays without knowing the consequences, without taking the time to really learn about BDSM and whether or not they are willing to go to those lengths. In my opinion, it's the most irresponsible thing you can do for yourself and your partner. When a sexual practice borders dangerously along the lines of violence and abuse, I think it's the media's responsibility, as well as our own, to have more of a discussion about it other than what Christian Grey looks like or the fact that the female character is naked in the movie.



Reply

Griechux
. on Feb 17, 2015 @ 02:49 pm

No need to apologize, you havent done anything wrong :)
Reply

Anonymous
50 shades on Feb 17, 2015 @ 02:56 pm

I absolutely loved it and would definitely recommend seeing it.
Reply

Newfiescreech
50 shades on Feb 17, 2015 @ 11:07 pm

Thanks so much for all your wonderful opinions .. I did get ready , head to movie theater last night .I had see for myself what everyone talking about . Got to theater with a friend and couldn't believe my eyes .what line up outside theater. while we were waiting get in ,buy our tickets. one of employees came out said sorry were all sold out this showing tonight .not sure if i'm actually going tempt go back again .people that i chatted with is telling me 50 shades sold out for remaining of this week .maybe held over for another week .so just can't vice my opinion about 50 shades until i actually see movie . THATS MY OPINION !!
Reply

Leave A Reply

Title:
Your Reply:
 

 

Join Our Newsletter

Stay in the loop for the latest news, contests, deals and more!


Recent Activity

jujusamples has posted in the forum topic
Beauty Products

Irememberu added a new review for
Milkbone Brushing Chews




Ssamson22 added a new review for
Milkbone Brushing Chews

KieliAnne has posted in the forum topic
Advent calender

jujusamples has started a new forum topic
Beauty Products

KieliAnne has posted in the forum topic
SINGLE AT CHRISTMAS


See All:  Reviews | Forums | Articles