Product Review Club reviews being READ by staff..

on Apr 23, 2016 @ 07:03 pm

I read product reviews before buying things, and I expect honest reviews. 
I am SO SICK of seeing Product Review Club testers 
1. NOT stating that they received the product for free in exchange for their review
2. straight-up lying and kissing up the product they got for free, no matter what
**the product review club should READ these reviews, and send out ADDITIONAL product review club products to members who have thoroughly and honestly provided a review that is longer than one word. Personally, I have had the opportunity and have provided honest reviews, but there are other people who would like to test products and who aren't given a chance. The same people providing false reviews, or reviews of little value, for example:
 "i like this because i got it for free, i want more chances for free stuff because i like it" 
are getting additional opportunities. 
I wish that someone would read over these reviews. I would also like the opportunity to click "like" or "thumbs up" a review. 

36 Replies

. on Apr 23, 2016 @ 07:19 pm

All of my reviews have to be longer then 150 characters.
Which is really quite easy to do. However, I am not sure
when the 150 character requirement kicks in.

. on Apr 23, 2016 @ 07:53 pm

I agree, there should be some sort of filtering to make sure the reviews are acceptable and informative. I try to put in as much detail as I can, especially for a product I got for free and had the opportunity to test out. It's a privilege to be chosen and it should be taken seriously.


.. on Apr 23, 2016 @ 08:22 pm

Honesty is always best... I am honest so maybe thats why i do not get many products lol.. But i do find allot of people say what they think the company and the product review site might want them to say.. Negative is fine if you are honest because not everyone will have the same opinion on a product...

Flag spam on Apr 23, 2016 @ 08:23 pm

There is a flag option on each review.
Could we use that if the review seems untruthful or is just a bunch of letters?

Yes honesty is best... on Apr 23, 2016 @ 08:58 pm

I love doing these reviews but yes sometimes you have to work see if the people just suck up in hopes of getting more reviews. Its hard though when you get a product to review but it is just not for you, for example I got a hair dye to try and it is just not me...

Thumbs Up Option on Apr 23, 2016 @ 09:26 pm

I think the thumbs up/down option would be a great addition so that we Chick's can help the review of reviews process a bit. There are so many reviews constantly going up 24/7/365.. Pretty sure they'd have to hire a couple people just to sift through them all. So, letting us help move things along a bit quicker is a great idea.
Perhaps us Chicks could even get a point or few for sifting through and putting our thumbs on reviews...

With regards to the people that don't post "I got this free..." How sure can we be that the reviewer received the product? Only the "Hen's", if you will, lol - would know the selected few. Some reviews could be popping up at the same time we are all sending our reviews of the free products we got because they might be interested in the product, then go out and buy it so they can add their own reviews. It's too hard to tell.

I agree the Chicks that for sure got the product to test should have some sort of extra accountability measures. Yes, posting within our reviews that we got the product free as part of the panel - but what if someone forgets?
At any rate - this is back end stuff that is impossible to suggest as we don't even know what platform the "Hen's" are using and if these types of options are available.

Another thing I'd suggest is that Chicks who have 10,000 points should get private offers that are not even listed on the site. They've put in the leg work. They deserve the special treatment.

The 150 minimum characters should be doubled, in my opinion. Seems how, "I received the product free as part of the ChickAdvisor Product Review Club" take up 76 of those characters. Currently, the only way you tell if you wrote enough is when you try to submit the review - it will stop you and let you know.

Finally, I believe the flag option is there, again, for us true Chicks to weed out the phonies. Yes, if there are just a bunch of letters and no words - flag it. If it strikes you as complete hogwash - flag it.

Amen! on Apr 23, 2016 @ 09:47 pm

I absolutely agree with you! I'm so glad you brought this forward! I try my best to write very detailed reviews, some are positive and some not. I think it's really important to be honest and provide as much detail as possible! It is frustrating when you put such an effort into writing this review and someone else writes "I love this product it was awesome." Really.....and they keep getting picked for campaigns!! I do rely on reviews to some extent to give me some guidance on new products. Like I said we need to hear honest opinions, just because I put out a negative review doesn't mean that product isn't for you and I try to explain why this product isn't for me in a way that I'm not necessarily trying to deter people from buying it! As for the 150 minimum character should not be a problem if you are giving a proper review in my opinion!

love the suggestions! on Apr 24, 2016 @ 08:17 am

Awesome, I love all of your input! I especially like the thumbs up (thumbs down) option, as well as the idea of chicks getting points for ;) and the idea of chicks with 10,000 points getting private offers..that is a LOT of points! I apologize if my original posting sounded a bit negative (my wording, and CAPS LOCK), but I love all of the replies, and thanks for not being too hard on me!

.... on Apr 24, 2016 @ 08:51 am

I have my 10 000 points and i do not want special offers. Honestly i post in fourms more now then i do reviews. I think another suggestion would be the top 10 chicks with the most points recieve a giftcard.. I find most are just doing quick reviews to secure their giftcard. Incentive is great and the gift card is awesome but it needs to be done differently. I think the quality of the reviews really takes a hit when people are only thinking about the giftcard... But just my opinion...

. on Apr 24, 2016 @ 11:46 am

When I first started back in Dec. all I did was reviews very short. I have gone back and updated some of them but too many to update in total. Now I do less reviews but they are quality reviews quite a bit more than 150 characters. When I do a review I make many changes before it is submitted and also submit pics for all too unless I have trouble doing that. It happens rarely. I was spending more time in forum but lately not so much.I love this group and the chicks. I spend more time here than any other group.

Leave A Reply

Your Reply:


Join Our Newsletter

Stay in the loop for the latest news, contests, deals and more!

Recent Activity