Product Review Club: Six Weeks to Toxic

Ali de Bold

Attention Chicklit lovers! Our latest product review submission is this new book by Louisa McCormack.

"Smart, savvy and sexy, Six Weeks to Toxic is Louisa McCormack's wildly witty debut novel that delves into the complex world of female friendships gone awry.

Meet Bess: a cute and quirky sound artist for feature films with a punk-rock past and a penchant for pop philosophy. Meet Maxine: a sleek and strapping freelance journalist who's privileged to the point of confusion. Both women work in Hollywood North, and the two have been best friends for sixteen years.

Cut to New Year's Day, 2000, where the story opens with a headache and a hangover. Bess finds herself facing thirty-five, single, struggling to make ends meet and stuck with a bad case of the existential blues. Meanwhile, Maxi has just landed a new job, a new home and a hot new man. But the tables turn when Maxi's relationship begins to sour and Bess finds happiness in all the right places. The two begin to drift, and by Valentine's Day, 2000, sixteen years of friendship turns into six weeks of toxic.

Set in the hip urban milieu of well-connected thirty-somethings, Six Weeks to Toxic is a biting, honest and wildly funny look at the complexity of female friendships."

If you're in our product review club we've already sent you an email. We're looking for readers in their 20s or 30s who LOVE Chicklit and agree to review this within 2 weeks of receiving it. We have 2 copies to give away.

Questions or comments? Post them here.
Aug 17, 2007 @ 11:42 am

14 Replies

artist

Review it? Sure!

I can review it! I can do some leisure reading now.
Aug 17, 2007 @ 12:20 pm
Bubblybunny

Sounds like an interesting book

I would love to review it if you still have copies left! :) I love chicklit and often in search for new authors. :D
Aug 17, 2007 @ 06:23 pm
Ali de Bold

Reviewers of Six Weeks to Toxic

Thanks everyone who contacted me about this book. I've started reading it myself and it is a fun, well written book. Since there were a bunch of you that expressed interest through email and this forum post, we drew names for this one. The books are going to...


Bubblybunny & echogirl

Congrats! Please make sure you review it within 14 days of receiving it so that companies will continue to send more great stuff like this!

Enjoy!
Aug 18, 2007 @ 10:39 am
artist

Yayyy!

Congratulations to Bubblybunny and echogirl!
Aug 18, 2007 @ 05:49 pm
echogirl

YAhh!!!

Thanks for picking me....just so you know I have not yet received it. Has it been sent yet?
Thanks again,
D
Sep 02, 2007 @ 04:41 pm
Ali de Bold

Yes

The publisher said it was sent the week before last. I will look into this for you. Thanks for the heads up!
Sep 03, 2007 @ 12:59 pm
Bubblybunny

Got my book and reading now

I got my book on Tuesday, but it might've arrived last Friday??
Sep 06, 2007 @ 11:36 am
Bubblybunny

Where to post review?

I'm almost done the book. Where should I post the review?
Sep 07, 2007 @ 03:46 pm
mamaluv

review

MC and I have already read it and posted our opinions. Just find the existing review (under the Shopping tab, book category) and click to rate it. It's the same as if you are rating an existing beauty product or whatever.
Sep 08, 2007 @ 02:35 pm
Bubblybunny

found it

Thanks mamaluv, I found the reviews.

I have one question regarding the book reviews (probably apply to all categories). I noticed different book reviews are listed under different cities, which I can understand. But when I selected "All Cities", I thought it'd show all the books. But for some reason, I found more books under Toronto than All Cities. Furthermore, some books appeared in other cities but not under All Cities. Am I making any sense??

So how do I look up the complete list of reviews from all cities?
Sep 08, 2007 @ 03:23 pm

Leave A Reply

Title:
Your Reply:
 

 

Join Our Newsletter

Stay in the loop for the latest news, contests, deals and more!