We would like to send you notifications on the latest Product Review Club offers.

Tips for getting chosen for Product Review Club, etc.

Ali de Bold

For the Product Review Club, we will always look for the most appropriate reviewers based on the survey questions AND based on whether you have reviewed things in the past. We also look at the quality of your social sharing

If it is a toss up between another member who participates actively on ChickAdvisor with reviews, forums etc and someone who has never reviewed anything on ChickAdvisor, we will always choose the active member. Why? Because the companies that provide products for you to review are counting on your opinions.

Further, your reviews help us grow, so why wouldn't we show extra love to those of you doing your part? Something to keep in mind!

***UPDATE: DECEMBER 2015***

Hi Everyone! I know a lot of you look to this thread for tips and advice and thought it high time I update the original post as there have been changes over the years. Here is what we are looking for when choosing who will be selected for these offers:

1. Are you the right fit for the product? We want to match the product exactly to who it is designed for.

2. Your current reviews on ChickAdvisor. You need to have reviewed at least 5 items on your own from products you already own and love. We are looking at the quality of your reviews. Do you provide helpful, detailed feedback? If you don't like something are you constructive with your criticism?

3. Your social participation. Do you use our hashtags? What is the quality of your social postings? Do people like you and follow you? Our favourite posts are things like Instagram images when you get your products (we love it when you are in them!). Helpful tweets and Facebook posts are also much appreciated. Some of you have even done Youtube videos and blogs. LOVE those!

4. When we send you a product, do you review it? If not we can't choose you again. There are so many of you in our Product Review Club. It's not fair to choose someone who doesn't review over the many others who will.

That's it! I hope it helps and thank you all for your questions and interest in our program!

***
Apr 09, 2008 @ 06:39 pm

290 Replies

The Tigress

Thanks

I am fairly new here and so appriciate the time you have taken to help us understand how this site works.

How do you put up your first review ??
May 01, 2012 @ 03:13 am
shuey

Great tips!


I look forward to being pick ;)
May 01, 2012 @ 03:43 am
mamaluv

Reviews

@The-Tigress: at the very top of the page (above the ChickAdvisor logo) is a pink " Add Review" button.

When you click on that you land on a page that asks you to add the full name of the product or place. There is a grayed out example inside of the box, but just click into the box and start typing - your text will appear and the system will start to autosuggest matches based on what you typed. If the product or service has been previously reviewed by someone else, you should select it and continue. If none of the suggestions match the product/service you are planning to write about, just continue typing in the name.

It's important to use an identifiable name, like so:
Good example = CoverGirl Lashblast mascara
Bad example = CoverGirl mascara

After that, just follow the instructions! When you are done, you click on the pink "Preview" box at the bottom. This will show you what your review will look like and give you the option to go back to edit. When you are satisfied, click the pink "Submit" and allow the page to fully load before you go on to something else. If you rush, the system might not save your review properly :/

Hope that helps!
May 01, 2012 @ 05:34 am
The Tigress

Writing a Reveiw


Thank you so much for replying back.. I have tried to put in my review on Dove Beauty Bar, but as it turns out they say it's already there :(
I do have a couple of ?? if you don't mind answering ..
I added a photo and it's been keep :) so happy about that. However, ppl on my fanpage cannot find the review I wrote ? In the future I know I will wait and add the review in complete on my own :)) Getting better at this thing ..

?? can u add my review to my blog and link it back here meaning on my Shick profile ?
Also, how can I get links to add See my Review ?? Searching high and low to add to my bloging site .. ty

?? can we add deals or coupons we find towards the products ?? such as I saw a form that gave a link to Brandsaver samples ??

Oh yes ! do you need to sign up to every single product club to review or is the on application to shick advisor the only application required.. (don't want to spam)

Thanks for any help you may offer..
May 12, 2012 @ 03:50 am
mamaluv

reply...

Hi Tigress, I can answer those questions for you!

1. Our team checked on your Dove review and we see that you posted one using the "Anonymous" function. That's why it's not displaying on your profile (to protect your privacy). If you want the review to be "open", just email us and we'll get that sorted out for you (info@ChickAdvisor.com). If by chance your earlier review was NOT intended to be for the classic "white" beauty bar, let us know and we'll move it into the appropriate listing. You will then be able to add a new review for the white bar.

2. to find a specific review and post to your blog/wherever, go to your profile (by clicking on your profile name/pic where linked such as here in this forum thread or at the top of the page where your pic/name appears). You will see "Recent Activity". At the bottom is a black bar where it says "See All Reviews" - click on this. You will now see all of the reviews that are openly associated with your account. Clicking on the title of the product you want to link to will get you to your place on that product listing, kind of like a book mark. The link has "rid=(numbers)" at the end; this is how you know you're copy/pasting the correct url.

3. to add a deal, visit our Deals page by clicking here or finding it in our masthead (3rd link just below the ChickAdvisor logo). Look for the "Add Deal" button at the top right of the Deals pane (or you can click directly here). Fill in as many details as you can. When you are done, Preview and then Submit your deal. One of our site admins will manually approve it and push it live, usually within 24 hours. Very occasionally, users post deals that are not true deals (ie. "regular low prices") or spam, etc. These deals are NOT approved.

4. the Product Review Club has two application parts: The first is on the main sign-up page here (http://www.chickadvisor.com/article/chickadvisor-product-review-club/) which gets you on the mailing list and helps us to understand what our members are interested in, what demographics we have available, etc so that we can approach the appropriate companies for possible sponsorship of a Review Club opportunity. The second is on any given promotion in order to pinpoint the right candidates. Not every member of the Review Club wants to participate in every promotion for various reasons, so that's why we ask everyone to sign up for each individual promo they are specifically interested in.

Hope this helps!
May 15, 2012 @ 05:51 am
farouknabela

Very helpful!

Thank you so much for the tips!
May 15, 2012 @ 06:10 pm
burnabyclipper

Thanks

I should have figured I need to participate more to be chosen, it was a matter of figuring the site out.
May 17, 2012 @ 03:09 pm
Merms

finally useful info :)

awesome, can't wait to review!
May 23, 2012 @ 02:00 pm
The Tigress

Sugest a Forum

Hello,

Thank you for all the great advice and tips.
I wondered if it were possible to link a review to our blogs ??
Also do you know what Threads/Form/Chat we can link up to that has more of this wonderful infomation..
And what are the points used for, cannot seem to find out how to use these..

Thank you so much for any advice..
Jun 07, 2012 @ 03:26 am
mamaluv

answer

hi Tigress!

Link to blog - no, you cannot link to your own blog within a review, article comments, deals, and forum postings. This is because some people would consider it improper promotion (or even spamming) and we are very careful about only allowing genuine product reviews. There is a spot on your member profile where you can link your blog. Go to your profile, click "Edit My Profile" in the right sidebar, then click on the "Blog" tab. It should be self explanatory from that point on.

More information - if you could specify what kind of information you want to know, I can point you in the right direction. Until then, you can check out our site FAQs for some general help.

Points - points are earned through different site activities, like adding reviews or deals, commenting on articles, subscribing to our site newsletter, etc. They help identify our top users who are recognized each month on our home page as the top contributors. We have plans in the works to create exclusive opportunities linked to points, so stay tuned!

Hope that helps!
Jun 07, 2012 @ 05:23 am

Leave A Reply