We would like to send you notifications on the latest Product Review Club offers.

Review of the Week: Eyebrow Gels and Pencils (February 17-23)

Posted by Christina | Monday February 17, 201410 comments


A day without taming my brows is bound to be a bad one. Being a lady with brows that cannot be tamed without a visit to the esthetician every month, I needed to learn how to make these bold brows stand out and work with the day and evening beauty looks. I must admit, until a couple years ago I did nothing to enhance my brows, but after discovering eyebrow gels and pencils I haven't looked back. My go to product is Anastasia Brow Gel

So chicks, this week we're talking about our brows and our favourite products to enhance this beautiful feature. Whether you're into shaping or adding a darker shade to create a bold look, your brows deserve some attention! 

Check out some of the ChickAdvisor Community’s favourite eyebrow beauty products below:



1. Wet N' Wild Eyebrow Pencil (C$1.49)

2. Anastasia Brow Gel (C$29.00)

3. Lise Watier Eyebrow Pencil  (C$23.00)

4. NYX Eyebrow Marker (C$9.75) 

What's your favourite eyebrow pencil or gel? Do you have any tips for taming or enhancing your brows?

When you review any eyebrow pencils, markers or gels from February 18 to February 23, you'll be automatically entered to win a prize pack worth C$35.00, packed with beauty goodies! Get reviewing over here. 

The more reviews you post the better chance you have of winning! Remember you have to be a part of the ChickAdvisor Community to join, so if you're not a member already, sign up here
More by Christina
More on Eyes, Lips, Face, Contests

Facebook Comments


8 Comments

on May 05, 2016  jmca  8,950 said:

I stick to liquid eyeliner. I don't usually use eyebrow pencils but do tweeze and/or wax. I've just started trying out brow gel. I can take it or leave it.

on February 28, 2014  SandraJT said:

I do tweeze, but not everyone does. It depends on what you're starting with as to whether or not you can skip this step.

To begin filling in your brows: use a tinted brow wax, applied with a natural hair, angled brush to initially fill in your brows. Start with a little & build up. This gives you a great base which helps tame brows & gives some color to fill in sparse areas. It also gives something for the powder shadow you use in the step below to stick to & keeps your brows from smudging or fading throughout the day. The brand doesn't matter in the slightest. Waxes are also much easier to remove quickly & easily without disturbing the rest of your makeup if you ever make a mistake, rather than waterproof pencils or 'brow mascara' type products which can be much more difficult to take off once they've set. Just use a cotton bud with the tiniest bit of makeup remover & lightly wipe off whatever you're unhappy with. As an alternative to tinted brow wax, you can even use a wax-based contouring cream for this step. Ben Nye & Kryolan, a couple of brands which makeup artists often use, make some great products for this purpose. They're very affordable as well. If you go the route of using a wax-based contouring product, you're also adding a product to your personal kit that serves multiple purposes. As a side note, tinted products work better than clear brow waxes because they add more dimension to your finished brows once you've completed this technique & make it very simple to fill in sparse areas without looking overdone.

Next, layer the correct shade of brow powder for yourself over the already applied tinted wax, using another angled brush with natural hair. A lip brush can also work really well for this. Using different shades of satin or shimmery eyeshadows - pressed powder shadows or loose mineral shadows - works incredibly to fill brows in. Play with shades from lightest brown to darkest to figure out what looks best on you. There's no need to buy 'brow powder' as it makes absolutely no difference. You'll also usually get significantly less product for your money. Remember that our hair has natural highlights & lowlights, so matte shadow is not the best choice here. Satin or slightly shimmery shadows work best to give brows dimension. NYX makes some great, inexpensive shadow singles for this purpose. Start with the smallest amount & build up. It's easier to add than to take away.

Brush through your brows with a spoolie to make your work look more natural, like hairs rather than painted on brows. I prefer for my brows to start lighter closer to my nose and to get a little darker out towards my temples, so I kind of feather things out using my spoolie. Any clean, mascara-type wand works for this purpose. Harsh brows don't look great on many people. This takes just a couple of seconds & can make a big difference in your finished appearance.

I always follow this routine by setting with a clear brow gel - Essence makes a great one that is stinking cheap. Tweezerman also makes a fairly affordable one, although you get far less product with this brand at a higher price. Neither of these brow gels flake, which is important. Even more expensive products can underperform. You don't want to wind up looking like you've got dandruff above your eyes.

I finish off by using a highly pigmented, satin/nearly matte eyeshadow in a very light cream color under my brows to give my eyes the illusion of having been lifted. Again, NYX is a great inexpensive choice. Their single shadow pots have great texture & pigmentation, and are very easy to blend out without blending them totally away. Use a very narrow, stiffer, synthetic brush to lay this color down, keeping as close to the brow line as possible. Make sure there are no noticeable edges, which would not look good, but enough product to brighten the area. I then do the same ABOVE my brows, just from the arch outwards towards my temples, and blend out the edges again so it's not at all noticeable. This step makes a huge difference, no matter your age or your eye shape, making your eyes appear more open, awake & lifted. Try doing one eye like this & leave the other. Take a photo of yourself. You'll see how it changes the look of your face.

And personally, I really find frosty/shimmery shadows under the brows look very dated & quite cheesey. They are just too obvious for this area. Stick with frosts & shimmers for your lids, rather than your brow bone. Although, if you love that particular look, you should do whatever makes you happy. There are no 'rules' when it comes to makeup. Cosmetics should be all about fun & creativity. And I must say, no age of woman is too old to be using frosts & shimmers on their lids. It's just a matter of modifying the way you use them to get the most out of them.

Lastly, experiment with different shades of brow waxes, shadows etc to go through this process. I've got light-medium skin tone, so somebody with a darker skin tone wouldn't necessarily use the same shades as I would. Regardless, you can still make this work. Brands are far less important than using colors that are right for your own complexion.

on February 20, 2014  renee_h  463 said:

tinting your brows is also a great alternative. I like to use powder or a brow pencil both look great and natural.

on February 19, 2014  Chrisseaaa  808 said:

I love the Quo brow powder they sell at shoppers drug mart as well as just using a generic brown eyeliner/eyebrow crayon for my eyebrows!

on February 19, 2014  Wolfie  1,383 said:

I actually have very sparse pale brows. And being a redhead with pale skin, I need help with my brows. I look like I have a huge forehead. And yet when I use anything on my brows, it looks so very fake. HELP!!!

on February 19, 2014  crowjane37  5,306 said:

My tip is NEVER tweeze the top line of your brows - it makes them look soooo unnatural. and under, don't tweeze too close to your nose! just from about halfway and toward the ends so they look naturally tamed!

on February 19, 2014  Lexus36  1,345 said:

On casual days I use brow gel. On night's out I use a pencil :)

on February 17, 2014  MsBeautifulSam  2,733 said:

I use the wet n wild eye product daily! Tweezing and trimming your eyebrows are key to keeping them look good!

Add Comment:

Name:
Blog URL: